DICE’s massively popular Battlefield 1 has received a new ‘winter update’ in preparation for the games’ first big DLC, They Shall Not Pass, due next month.

Arguably the main feature of the update is that each individual class’ level cap has been increased from 10 to 50, adding much more replayability to multiplayer. The update also adds a new way to earn XP, through ribbons. Players of previous Battlefield titles will be familiar with the system, which rewards players for in-game feats with experience points. The final major change introduced by the update is the ability to vote on maps at the end of each match, a feature that has been long-since requested by gamers.

There are numerous minor changes to the game that you can check out here. The main aim of the patch seems to be to prepare the game for it’s upcoming DLC content due in March. We’ll be sure to keep an eye on that as we get closer to release.


2 thoughts on “Battlefield 1’s winter update is here

  1. There are a lot of things that add to a multiplayer game’s longevity. A lot of those things revolve around progression. Especially in shooters and fantasy games, progressing your character, equipment, and general stats is something I latch onto in conjunction with my personal K/D and such.

    All this is to say, sweet, I’m glad there is a raise in the level cap as it’s an obvious extension of gameplay value.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s